Home Calendar Departments Information Careers News

Fire and Burn Ban Information

The McKenzie County Board of Commissioners has approved the 2023 Burn Restrictions.

Burn Restrictions run from May 2nd to October 31st of this year. Done in accordance with ND Century Code 33.01-15-04. The McKenzie County Board of Commissioners has reviewed and approved the 2023 burn restrictions. Click here to view the Burn Restrictions form.

Burn permits are required year-round!  

Burn Permits are required year-round and requires the approval of the local fire department AND the Upper Missouri District Health Unit (they issue the actual permit). Please call our office for more information and if you have questions. Not tech savvy? Call us and we will guide you through the process. We want to help you as much as you want to burn! 

Area Fire Departments


Alexander Rural Fire Protection District -  Chief: Lance Powell  alexanderfiredept@gmail.com

Arnegard Rural Fire Protection District -  Chief: Rick Schreiber    rschreiber@co.mckenzie.nd.us

Fairview Volunteer Fire Department -   Chief: Ryan Taylor  rytaylor71@yahoo.com

Grassy Butte Rural Fire Protection District -   Chief: Lee Geiger   grassybuttefirechief@gmail.com

Horse Creek Fire Protection District -   Chair: Eldean Flynn  esf@midrivers.com

Keene/McKenzie County Rural Fire District -   Chief: Wade Signalness    wsignalness@yahoo.com

Mandaree Fire Protection District -   Chief: Marle Baker    marlebaker@mhanation.com

New Town Rural Fire Protection District -   Chief: John Degroot     newtownfiredepartment@gmail.com

Sidney Rural Fire Department -   Chief:  Adam Smith   adamwsmith86@gmail.com

Sioux Yellowstone Rural Fire Protection District -   ChairTim Denowh    Tjdno1@msn.com

Watford City/McKenzie County Rural Fire District -  Chief: Dave Uhlich    digy6@restel.com

Williston Rural Fire Protection District -   Chief: John Laqua     laquajohn@yahoo.com

McKenzie County

© 2024 McKenzie County site by DAWA